THE HISTORY OF LE MINOR HOSIERY

Since 1922, Le Minor has been making marine-inspired clothing for men, women and children in Brittany.

1922

Mrs. Berthe Etui creates in Lorient the MBL, La Manufacture Bonneterie Lorientaise

The company manufactures marine sweaters for fishermen.
The sailor sweater, well before becoming a fashion garment, has always been an armor against bad weather for the workers of the sea. The ancestor of Le Minor hosiery, MBL, for Manufacture Bonneterie Lorientaise, founded by Mrs. Berthe Etui, set itself the goal of protecting these sailors with the best possible sweaters, by creating a first manufacturing workshop in 1922, on the street of the 62nd Infantry Regiment in Lorient.

Breton sailors have a rough life, in contact with the elements, like the Terre-Neuvas. These sailors, from all Breton families, left at the age of 14 for 9-month cod fishing campaigns across the Atlantic, off Saint John and the Gulf of Saint Lawrence. At the time, the sailors took with them the MBL knitwear made of local wool, which they sometimes wore next to their skin, and which had to be warm and resistant.

This emblematic garment quickly became part of the sailors' gear before becoming a must-have in men's and women's wardrobes, as a symbol of French elegance.

1936

Marie-Anne Le Minor, creates in Pont L'Abbé the company LE MINOR

In parallel, in 1936, another Breton symbol was born in Pont L'Abbé. Le Minor is first the name of its founder Marie-Anne, who created the company in the 30s.

She gathered around her the embroiderers of the Bigouden country, who perpetuated a traditional Breton decorative art, by making first traditional folk clothes, doll clothes, then table and household linen, and very quickly ready-to-wear.

1950

Creation of the Kabig, Le Minor's iconic and emblematic piece.

The Kabig, emblematic piece of the Le Minor range, has been dressing Breton children and adults since the 1950s. A woolen coat, a sort of hooded coat, this garment is said to be inspired by that of the "goémoniers" (seaweed gatherers), these people who live at the time of the collection of seaweed at low tide, to make fertilizer or medicine. This garment must be warm, covering and weatherproof. To make it a trendy garment, Marie-Anne Le Minor had it redesigned by René-Yves Creston.

1960

Minor becomes a fashion brand: "a brand in the wind

Through new collections and new products inspired by the marine world, the brand continues its development.

1963

The company set up its workshops in Guidel. More than 150 people have joined the entrepreneurial adventure

During the 1930s, MBL continued to grow, but was forced to move to Quimperlé and Pluméliau during the Second World War, before returning to Lorient at the end of it. Under the direction of Juliette Corlay, the company moved to the current factory in Guidel in 1963 and began to dress the general public by making cotton sailor sweaters and sailor shirts.

1970

The company won the contract from the French Navy.

In 1970, MBL started to manufacture the regulation jersey for the French Navy and will manufacture between 5000 and 15000 officers' sweaters per year for the Navy until 2010. Today, the workshop in Guidel continues to manufacture this sweater made to last a lifetime.

Minor employs 500 people in Pont L'Abbé: a true regional symbol.

1982

Minor is bought by the company MBL

To better represent the excellence of Breton manufacturing, Le Minor and MBL merged in 1982 and moved together to Guidel.

1987

The Grammatico family takes over the management of the company

The company is taken over by the Grammatico family in 1987. Under her management, MBL labels gradually gave way to Le Minor. Passionate about design, Marie-Christine Grammatico remained at the head of the factory for 31 years, designing colorful sailors' shirts with ever-changing stripes.

1989

Development of the brand on the Asian territory with in particular the opening of the Japanese market

The Minor is going through the crisis of the French textile industry (1990-2010) by successfully carving out a nice place for itself in the export market, especially in Japan, where coquettish women swear by this traditional sailor made in Brittany.

2000

Opening of a new activity

Le Minor is developing its activity as a manufacturer in France for high-end and luxury brands.

2018

Jérôme and Sylvain, two entrepreneurs passionate about French know-how, take over the company

In 2018, Le Minor was taken over by two friends who intend to perpetuate a quality know-how that has become very rare in France.

2020

Le Minor represents Morbihan at the Élysée Palace for the first exhibition of Made in France and is a winner of France Relance

For the first Made in France exhibition, Le Minor was selected by the Morbihan prefecture to represent the Elysée Palace. Le Minor exhibited one of its emblematic sweaters, the 92012 ecru-navy, a symbol of its Breton manufacturing for nearly 100 years, alongside brands such as Guy Cotten, with whom the company would later manufacture nearly 100,000 masks during the Covid crisis.

2021

Development of the French market

This year marks the redeployment of the brand on French territory, after a long period in the desert, during which it had developed mainly in export markets. The brand is distributed at Merci and Centre Commercial in Paris, a sign of a successful premium repositioning.

2022

The Minor celebrates its 100th anniversary

The centennial year is full of events, starting with the reintroduction of the Kabig, the house's emblematic coat. As this centenary is synonymous with a projection into the modern world, Le Minor is carrying out 2 M € of work to equip itself with a new production workshop, a new factory store, and to open a museum in Guidel.

This 100-year anniversary also sees the birth of new collaborations with Monoprix, L'Étiquette and Norse Projet.

Finally, in 2022, Le Minor is releasing its "Woolly pully", a sweater made from recycled wool and spun in France, a true embodiment of the brand's mission to safeguard textile know-how in France.

L’HISTOIRE DE LA BONNETERIE LE MINOR

Le Minor, ce sont plusieurs vies, celles de quatre patronnes qui vont porter haut leurs couleurs, et celle de la maille.
L’histoire de la Maison se raconte aussi au travers de ses mythes : le pull marin, le pull officier, la marinière, ou bien encore le kabig… Le Minor se découvre également à travers ses métiers, des métiers singuliers pour lesquels plus aucune école ne forme aujourd’hui.

Plongez dans la vie et l’histoire d’une marque fabricante, positionnement original en France s’il en est.

1922

Mme Berthe Etui crée à Lorient la MBL, La Manufacture Bonneterie Lorientaise

L’entreprise fabrique des pulls marins pour les marins pêcheurs.
Le chandail marin, bien avant de devenir un vêtement de mode, a toujours été une armure contre les intempéries pour les travailleurs de la mer. L'ancêtre de la bonneterie Le Minor, MBL, pour Manufacture Bonneterie Lorientaise, fondée par madame Berthe Etui, se fixe l’objectif de protéger ces marins avec les meilleurs pulls possibles, en créant un premier atelier de fabrication en 1922, rue du 62ème Régiment d'Infanterie à Lorient.

Les marins bretons ont une vie rude, au contact des éléments, à l'image des Terre-Neuvas. Ces marins, issus de toutes les familles bretonnes, partent dès 14 ans pour des campagnes de 9 mois pêcher la morue outre atlantique, au large de Saint-Jean et du golfe du Saint Laurent. A l'époque dans leur trousseau, les matelots emportent les tricots MBL en laine du pays, qu’ils portent parfois à même la peau, et qui devront être chauds et résistants.

Ce vêtement emblématique investira vite le barda des marins plaisanciers avant de devenir un incontournable des vestiaires masculin et féminin, en tant que symbole de l'élégance à la française.

1936

Marie-Anne Le Minor, crée à Pont L'Abbé l’entreprise LE MINOR

En parallèle, en 1936, un autre symbole breton naît à Pont L'Abbé. Le Minor, c’est d’abord le nom de sa fondatrice Marie-Anne, qui crée l’entreprise dans les années 30.

Elle rassemble autour d’elle les brodeurs du pays Bigouden, qui perpétuent un art décoratif traditionnel breton, en confectionnant d’abord des vêtements traditionnels folkloriques, des vêtements de poupée, puis du linge de table et de maison, et très vite du prêt-à-porter.

1950

Création du Kabig, pièce iconique et emblématique de Le Minor.

Le Kabig, pièce emblématique de la gamme Le Minor, habille les bretons petits et grands dès les années 50. Manteau en drap de laine, sorte de caban à capuche, on dit ce vêtement inspiré de celui des goémoniers, ces gens qui vivent à l’époque du ramassage des algues à marée basse, pour faire de l’engrais ou des médicaments. Il faut donc que ce vêtement soit chaud, couvrant, et à l’épreuve du temps. Pour en faire un vêtement tendance, Marie-Anne Le Minor l’a fait redessiner par René-Yves Creston.

1960

Le Minor devient une marque de mode : "une marque dans le vent"

À travers de nouvelles collections et de nouveaux produits inspirés de l’univers marin, la marque continue son développement.

1963

L’entreprise installe ses ateliers à Guidel. Plus de 150 personnes ont rejoint l’aventure entrepreneuriale

Pendant les années 30, MBL ne cesse de croître, mais est obligée de déménager à Quimperlé et à Pluméliau pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, avant un retour à Lorient à la fin de celle-ci. Sous la direction de Juliette Corlay, l’entreprise s’installe dans l’usine actuelle, à Guidel, en 1963, et commence à habiller le grand public en fabricant des pulls marins et des marinières en coton.

1970

L’entreprise remporte le marché de La Marine Nationale.

En 1970, MBL commence à fabriquer le jersey réglementaire de la marine nationale et fabriquera entre 5000 et 15000 pulls officiers par an pour la marine jusqu'en 2010. Aujourd'hui encore, l'atelier de Guidel continue à fabriquer ce pull fait pour durer toute une vie.

Le Minor emploie à Pont L’Abbé 500 personnes : un véritable symbole régional.

1982

Le Minor est rachetée par l’entreprise MBL

Pour mieux représenter l'excellence de la fabrication bretonne, Le Minor et MBL fusionnent en 1982 et s'installent ensemble à Guidel.

1987

La famille Grammatico reprend la direction de l'entreprise

L'entreprise est reprise par la famille Grammatico, en 1987. Sous sa direction, les étiquettes MBL laissent progressivement leur place à Le Minor. Passionnée par la création, Marie-Christine Grammatico restera 31 ans à la tête de l’usine, en imaginant au fil des saisons des marinières hautes en couleurs, avec des jeux de rayures toujours renouvelés.

1989

Développement de la marque sur le territoire asiatique avec notamment l’ouverture du marché japonais

Le Minor traverse la crise de l'industrie textile française (1990-2010) en se taillant avec succès une belle place à l'export, notamment au Japon, où les femmes coquettes ne jurent que par cette marinière traditionnelle fabriquée en Bretagne.

2000

Ouverture d’une nouvelle activité 

Le Minor développe son activité de façonnier (Fabricant) en France pour des marques haut-de-gamme et luxe.

2018

Jérôme et Sylvain, deux entrepreneurs passionnés du savoir-faire Français reprennent l’entreprise

En 2018, Le Minor est repris par deux amis qui entendent perpétuer un savoir-faire de qualité devenu très rare en France

2020

Le Minor représente le Morbihan à l’Élysée pour la première exposition du fabriqué en France et est lauréat de France Relance

Pour la première exposition du fabriqué en France, Le Minor est sélectionné par la préfecture du Morbihan pour représenter l’Elysée. Le Minor y expose un de ses pulls emblématiques, le 92012 écru-marine, symbole de sa fabrication bretonne depuis bientôt 100 ans, aux côtés de marques comme Guy Cotten, avec qui l’entreprise fabriquera plus tard près de 100 000 masques pendant la crise Covid.

2021

Développement du marché français

Cette année marque le redéploiement de la marque sur le territoire français, après une longue traversée du désert, durant laquelle elle s’était essentiellement développée à l’export. La marque est distribuée chez Merci et Centre Commercial à Paris, signe d’un beau recommencement et d’un repositionnement premium réussi.

2022

Le Minor fête ses 100 ans

L’année du centenaire est chargée en événements, à commencer par la remise en production du Kabig, le manteau emblématique de la maison. Ce centenaire étant synonyme de projection dans la modernité, Le Minor réalise 2 M € de travaux pour se doter d’un nouvel atelier de production, d’un nouveau magasin d’usine, et pour ouvrir un musée à Guidel. 

Cet anniversaire de 100 ans voit aussi naître des collaborations inédites avec Monoprix, L’Étiquette ou encore Norse Projet.

Enfin, en 2022, Le Minor sort son « Woolly pully », un pull fabriqué en laine recyclée et filée en France, véritable incarnation de la mission de la marque, qui est de sauvegarder les savoir-faire textiles en France.